home contact us sitemap
Decrease Font Size Default Size Increase Font Size Bookmark Email this page Print this page

Tongaat Hulett Sugar South Africa operates four sugar mills situated on the KwaZulu-Natal North Coast between Durban and Empangeni. These mills operate for approximately thirty six weeks of the year between April and December.

South Africa

Sugar Mills

Felixton Mill

Felixton Mill is situated on the northern KwaZulu-Natal coast, 160 km north of Durban, near the town of Empangeni. The first Felixton Mill, established in 1911 by Sir JL Hulett, was located directly adjacent to the present mill site. That first mill had an initial crushing capacity of 35 tons cane per hour and in its third season produced 12 000 tons of sugar.

At about the same time that the Felixton Mill was developed, Mr George Armstrong established the Zululand Sugar Milling Company (known as ZSM). This mill had a crushing capacity of 15 tons cane per hour. The site of the ZSM mill was about 12 km to the north, adjacent to Empangeni.

The Felixton and ZSM mill were expanded to a combined crushing capacity of 395 tons cane per hour by the time of their closure in 1984. Inefficiencies associated with operating two separate mills led to the decision in July 1981 to construct a new sugar mill which would be designed to crush at 600 tons cane per hour and in excess of 3 million tons cane per season.

Tongaat Hulett Sugar South Africa’s decision to invest in the new Felixton Mill, was a major commitment to the potential of the sugar cane industry in KwaZulu-Natal. It has resulted in agricultural development in this area, and has brought many benefits to the entire community through direct and indirect job creation and further development of cane land in the region. Currently cane areas include inland cane as far away as Melmoth (125 km) in the west and Mkuze (160 km) in the north.

Milling Capacity 600 tons per hour through two identical extraction lines
Cane Delivery Road
Contact Information Private Bag X02, Felixton 7835
Telephone: +27 35 791 5000
Fax: +27 35 791 5006